No Rest for the Writer

As I’ve been spending the summer working and vacationing it has been interesting to try to find the time to write. In terms of this blog I have been failing at keeping up. Thankfully, in terms of writing for myself I have not.

One of the interesting aspects of the life of a writer is discovering a balance between working and relaxing. So often I’ve heard published authors say their dedication to writing is a daily practice and that they are diligent in pursuing their craft every single day. Of course, on the other hand I’ve discovered that the task can be tiresome and also have found other problems alongside.

On vacation I almost always take my laptop, or if not I take some paper. I do try my best to find the time to write even when I’m not in my normal schedule, but I’m beginning to wonder if this is the right idea. Is there no time that should be a break from writing? Should it be a constant pursuit.

Below is a picture of me typing on my laptop by the pool. At the time it seemed important to get one more chapter finished, but looking back I wonder if I should have spent more time enjoying the moment.

What is your opinion on this tricky puzzle? Should a writer take time to rest, or should they make sure to practice each and every day? I have yet to find a real solution, but I look forward to hearing what you have to say. In short, how much work is too much work?

Image

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “No Rest for the Writer

  1. I have also failed at keeping up with my blog, I just wrote my second post all summer! While it’s important to write often, I definitely don’t think it’s necessary to write every single day… but then again, I’m not as serious about writing as you are. I mostly do it for fun. In that moment by the pool, I would have put the laptop down to enjoy the sunshine and relaxation, but that’s just me…. I think a good middle ground would be for you to keep a journal with you in your purse. That way you won’t be tempted to miss out on moments by pulling out your laptop all the time, but you’ll be able to jot down ideas and inspirations for you to write about later.

    • Thanks for commenting. Sadly my handwriting is awful so it is easier to type something out for me because I can usually read it later. And don’t think I’m totally obsessed with writing. I had been in the pool earlier for a bit and then did some writing afterwards. 🙂

Let me know what you think:

