Na NO Wri Mo

Before anyone gets fooled into thinking this is a post about NaNoWriMo, guess again. Nope, I’m not going to be talking much about National Novel Writing Month. I’m going to be talking about my own self made NO writing month.

October was my writing challenge. I did 500 words every day for 31 days. And it felt incredible. But it was also terribly difficult. I only kept at it thanks to the terrific support. But after exhausting myself trying to come up with more than 15500 words for fun, I simply can’t participate in any kind of a writing challenge this next month, particularly while dealing with awful writer’s block.

Now, that’s not to say I’ll be doing no writing at all this entire month. Forcing myself not to do any is often as painful as forcing myself to do so every day. So I’m implementing a rule that I’m only allowed to write when inspired. No deadlines, no goals, nothing but the simply pleasure of doing it for fun when I have time. And I’m hoping this might allow me to spark some new ideas again, and create a renewed motivation towards writing again. If anyone has good ideas for writer’s block, or coming up with new writing projects let me know. I always love getting feedback.

Don’t worry blog readers. I’ll try to see if I can post some older stuff on here when I get a chance, so I can at least keep some regular posts going. Just might be a bit before I have new inspiration. As to any October Writing Challenge friends, I’ll try to be back for the December one.

Wish me luck!

6 Comments

Filed under Writing

6 responses to “Na NO Wri Mo

  1. “Forcing myself not to do any is often as painful as forcing myself to do so every day.” See! That’s how one knows they’re a writer! They just can’t NOT write. Never doubt yourself.

  2. It was complete torture waiting for NaNoWriMo. I fell into a deep depression because I wasn’t allowed to write due to the rules.

Let me know what you think:

