Liebster Time Again!

So I was nominated for another Liebster award by narrativespark36 at the blog Narrative Spark.

I have already been nominated before and nominated ten other people (and actually I think a second person nominated me too but if I remember the post was accidentally deleted). Anyhow, as a result I usually just use this as a chance to thank the nominator and to answer the questions so my readers can learn a little bit more about me. I know, I’m lazy, sorry! (I also moved my Liebster sticker up on my blog so it’s easier to see).

And here are your ten questions to answer:

1. What social issue do you care about the most?

Wow, starting with the tough questions. I don’t even know where to start. I’m a feminist so I would say that women’s issues probably are one of my big priorities. But I also am just for trying to help with other social justice issues: helping to abolish slavery in other parts of the world, providing clean water to communities in poverty, continuing to allow everyone to have an education…etc. The most? Honestly I don’t think I could ever put one at the top of a list. It would just feel wrong.

2. What is a quote that has helped you through a tough time in your life?

I hesitate to include references to my religion on my blog, just because I don’t want people to feel discouraged in sharing their own thoughts and experiences with me. I want this blog to be an open place, hence why I always try to include discussion questions on posts. And sad to say I know some people hear the word Christian and go running. But honestly, the only quotes I can think of that have ever made me feel even slightly comforted are from the Bible. So I have to say: “The Lord is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him.” Nahum 1:7

3. What was your favorite TV show as a kid?

My family has never had cable so I watched PBS. Wishbone was definitely one of the top.

4. What movie have you seen a thousand times but keep watching again?

Honestly, I don’t know that there’s anything I could watch that many times and not become sick of it. I’d say Up is probably the best I can think of right now. I adore that movie.

5. If you could be any food, what would you be and why?

Something people don’t really like to eat…like broccoli. So I wouldn’t get eaten.

6. What advice would you give a six-year-old?

Enjoy life while you can. Play hard, work hard, enjoy every moment and don’t spend all of your time looking either ahead or behind.

7. What is your favorite book from your childhood?

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis was my number one book for a long time.

8. Who is your favorite historical figure and why?

I’ve always thought Eleanor of Aquitaine was pretty impressive for her day. A bit manipulative and treacherous and all of those things too, but she is still someone I’ve always found fascinating in history.

9. What is the best advice you have received?

The best I can think of right now was just the people who told me to go with my gut on where to go to college. They were right. Pretty specific, but I can’t think of anything more general at the moment.

10. What inspired you to start your blog?

This began as a school assignment. I had to create a blog and write two posts a week. After the class ended, I kept going because I enjoyed it so much.

Thank you so much for the nomination! If any readers wants to answer these questions in my comments, please do so! It would be a great chance to get to know you better too. These were certainly some tough ones, that’s for sure.

4 Comments

Filed under Misc

4 responses to “Liebster Time Again!

  1. Awesome answers! I’m a feminist and love Up, as well (though, I have to say I love broccoli!) I totally get you on the religion thing because I’m Catholic and especially right now that label can come with some negative connotations (that often aren’t true). One of my favorite Bible quotes is “Do not let anyone look down on you because you are young, but be an example for the believers in your speech, your conduct, your love, faith, and purity.” (1 Tim 4:12) Glad you enjoyed answering the questions! πŸ™‚

    • haha well I knew whatever food I chose someone would probably like it. You’re never safe as food. πŸ™‚ That is another one of my favorite Bible quotes. Definitely got me through some tough times as a teen and made me feel like my age was less important than my state of mind. Thank you again for asking me! Those were really fun. Tricky, but fun!

  2. I loved Wishbone! Dogs and books–what more does a girl need? I’m glad you shared a biblical quote, because it makes me feel okay sharing one, too. πŸ™‚ The one that came to my mind is 2 Kings 6:16: “Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.” Still sends chills down my back. And I think my favorite childhood book (as much as I can have a favorite) is A Wrinkle in Time. Those were some great questions, and I loved reading your answers!

    • Exactly, dogs and books are a great combo! That is a lovely quote, definitely one I will keep in mind for the future. And A Wrinkle in Time is incredible. I think in terms of my older childhood that one would definitely be on top of the list. It’s such a fantastic story! Thank you for commenting. Loved hearing your answers to some of those!

Let me know what you think:

