Book Challenge: 2. A Book That Was Made Into A Movie

So for my selection for book 2 (technically the third book I’ve read for the challenge) I chose to read The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery which has been made into a French film titled Le Hérisson (The Hedgehog). I’d seen the movie for French class before and had found it enjoyable, so I decided to give the novel a go as well. (especially since I usually do try to read a book before watching a movie).

The plot revolves around two protagonists. The first is Renée who is a concierge in a fancy building in Paris. She tries to act the typical part of someone who works in a concierge’s position, being grumpy and unrefined, fat and ugly. However, her secret is that she is actually quite cultured and enjoys reading all manner of books, listens to fine music, and tries to learn as much as she can about Japanese culture. In the meantime there is also Paloma, a confused preteen who feels that life is purposeless and has decided to kill herself and set her apartment on fire. However, these two characters who both usually hide their true selves from others find a friend in the mysterious Mr. Ozu, a Japanese man who moves into one of the empty apartments.

I’m sad to say I actually think I enjoy the film version a lot more than the written one. The book has lovely sections of writing, and I still found the characters interesting, but for me the plot simply dragged far too much in novel form. Barbery had sections where she spent a lot of time on philosophy. And to be honest I’ve never been much of a fan of philosophy in the first place. But if such a subject is going to be applied in a novel, it needs to be in a section that interests me and moves the plot forward, not a lengthy couple of paragraphs just expounding on basic thoughts about life.

I found I actually liked Paloma in the book a bit more than in the movie. She was more interesting to me and less annoying. But I thought it was interesting that the movie focuses more on her suicide plans, while the book seemed to only throw in a rare mention of it, which to me really removed much of the tension of that whole part of the story. Renée on the other hand I think I liked more in the movie, partly because she was the one in the book more likely to drone on about particular books or philosophical ideas for pages and pages.

Anyhow, I think the story idea of this book is interesting, and I do love some of the ideas of people just looking for belonging and feeling like they don’t fit in, or critiquing the shallowness of people like Paloma’s snobby family. But I think there was a lot in here that just needed to be cut or adapted to be more essential to the plot. I recently read The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein and it reminded me a bit of this in terms of having quite a bit of philosophy and protagonists very interested in questioning life. But Stein managed to apply this in a way that made feel interested int he story. He added humor and didn’t use quite the extensive vocabulary that Barbery makes use of, making it a bit easier to read. I guess my point is I think there are ways to do what Barbery did without losing the audience (or at least me).

Here is a book challenge I did not make. Click it to find the original source.

Here is a book challenge I did not make. Click it to find the original source.

Well on to my next read. Until next time!

Previous book challenge reads:

1. A Book I Own But Haven’t Read

5. A Book Published This Year

23 Comments

Filed under Reading

23 responses to “Book Challenge: 2. A Book That Was Made Into A Movie

  1. A book into a movie? That’s how I chose a book for popularity research. I figure if they wanted to make it a movie… Doesn’t always make for good reading.

    • Good point! It really just depends on the book for me. Some books make terrible movies, and other books make better movies than they do books. It really just depends. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Pingback: Book Challenge 9: A Book With a Color in the Title | A Cup of English Tea

  3. Pingback: Book Challenge 17: A Book That Will Make You Smarter | A Cup of English Tea

  4. Pingback: Book Challenge 3: A Book You Pick Solely for the Cover | A Cup of English Tea

  5. Pingback: Book Challenge 24: A Book You Loved…Read it Again! | A Cup of English Tea

  6. Pingback: Book Challenge 4: A Book Your Friend Loves | A Cup of English Tea

  7. Pingback: Book Challenge 22: A Book With Pictures | A Cup of English Tea

  8. Pingback: Reading Challenge 15: A Book of Poems | A Cup of English Tea

  9. Pingback: Reading Challenge 7: A Book by an Author You Love | A Cup of English Tea

  10. Pingback: Reading Challenge 21: A Book with a Great First Line | A Cup of English Tea

  11. Pingback: Reading Challenge 12: A Book with a Lion, a Witch, or a Wardrobe | A Cup of English Tea

  12. Pingback: Reading Challenge 10: A Book Set Somewhere You’ve Always Wanted to Visit | A Cup of English Tea

  13. Pingback: Reading Challenge 20: A Book “EVERYONE But You Has Read | A Cup of English Tea

  14. Pingback: Reading Challenge 11: A Book You Started But Never Finished | A Cup of English Tea

  15. Pingback: Reading Challenge 26: A Book Based on a True Story | A Cup of English Tea

  16. Pingback: Reading Challenge 16: A Book You Learned About Because of this Challenge | A Cup of English Tea

  17. Pingback: Reading Challenge 14: A Book Set in the Summer | A Cup of English Tea

  18. Pingback: Reading Challenge 19: A Book You Were Supposed to Read in School but Didn’t | A Cup of English Tea

  19. Pingback: Reading Challenge 25: A Book That is More Than Ten Years Old | A Cup of English Tea

  20. Pingback: Reading Challenge 18: A Book With a Blue Cover | A Cup of English Tea

  21. Pingback: Reading Challenge 6: A Book by an Author You’ve Never Read Before | A Cup of English Tea

  22. Pingback: Reading Challenge 8: A Book at the Bottom of your “To Be Read” Pile | A Cup of English Tea

Let me know what you think:

