Day 3: Quote 3

Well, I decided for my last quote for the quote challenge Bumbles Books tagged me in.

“I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo.
“So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

I read The Lord of the Rings back in elementary school and absolutely loved them. I was largely inspired by the movies coming out, of course, but the books are all good in their own right. I always have loved this quote, even if it’s one of the more popular ones.

33

I love this quote so much, just in showing us that even when things are hard we have one thing we can control, and that is how we behave in those circumstances. It’s easy to just sit back and mope when things are difficult. It’s easy to give up. But when things are out of your control, all you can control is how you react.

Anyhow, for my final choice of person to tag I choose Rollan Wengert at Tone-deaf Troglodyte Tries Mozart. He’s been a great friend on Twitter and writes fascinating material about Mozart and music. So though I’m not sure he’ll want to do a quote challenge, I thought I’d put this up as a chance to highlight his blog, which is one I really enjoy. Again, the rules are to post one quote a day for three days and then to tag one person each day. Since this is the last day I definitely wanted to say anyone who wishes to do this challenge is welcome to and if you let me know I’d be happy to make a reference to you on my blog.

What quotes do you love? Any LOTR lovers out there? What moments have you had to decide what to do with the time you’re given?

8 Comments

Filed under Misc

8 responses to “Day 3: Quote 3

  1. I, too, love Lord of the Rings and this quote in particular. Over the past few years I’ve struggled with a lot of medical issues that have limited my energy and how much I am able to accomplish, so this quote is one I feel deeply. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Me! Me! (Calen is jumping up and down with her hand in the air…) You probably picked one of the most favorite quotes next to “Not all who wander all lost.” (Which I keep PRAYING is true!!!) But there is one toward the end of the book that makes me feel like I have a Morgul wound myself. Frodo is reflecting on being back in the Shire.

    “How do you pick up the threads of an old life? How do you go on… when in your heart you begin to understand… there is no going back? There are some things that time cannot mend… some hurts that go too deep… that have taken hold.”

    For reasons I can’t even explain, that quote ripped my heart out. I remember when we saw ROTK for the first time and the hobbits were back at the Green Dragon having a pint. For just a breath of a scene they look around the tavern then at each other and you know what passes through their minds as they lift their tankards. It was a scene that for me said way more than words could because no words could have explained all they’d been through. Frodo’s comments come just a bit later.

    Oh Lordy… I’ve gotta go find my book and read it again…

    (Loved your post, btw!)

  3. Since I am a man pretending to be a man, I must take on your challenge. (I shall have to use Mozart quotes, a fun venture). This is a great quote to wrestle with as I sort out what’s worth fighting for, and what’s not, (i.e. a writing career). This is tough for me, because where people do need to fight for what is right, I also wonder how many of our troubles stem from those fighting for what is wrong? If Mordor didn’t exist, would the Fellowship need to? And, how many individuals are on the wrong side of a fighting battle? Surely, they don’t believe as much. Ultimately, I don’t want to find that my life’s joy can only come from winning a battle I wasn’t meant to win. I just want to clearly recognize those battles I’m called to fight.

  4. A blogger who writes about Mozart?!? Why have I not met this person yet? 🙂

Let me know what you think:

