Reading Challenge 8: A Book at the Bottom of your “To Be Read” Pile

All right, so I’ll admit I went a bit easy on myself for this one. But this is a book I’ve never read that was definitely on my “to be read” list. And I’d just finished reading Gone Girl, which was great but pretty long. And it just fit the time of year so well that it was impossible to resist.

So yes, for my final challenge doing this long 26 book list, I decided to do A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.

12436106_10204109099248308_440351726_n.jpg

I don’t even feel like I need to really put a description up. To be honest, this story is so iconic that I really don’t have any desire to review it. It’s short and sweet and utterly Christmasy. If you haven’t read it you should. Let’s just stick with that.

I had thought about doing a reading challenge wrap up, but I think I’ll leave that for another post. In the meantime, thanks to all my readers who have stuck with me through these long series of posts. Maybe with the new year I can begin some more unique ones to mix it up, and maybe get back to writing.

To read list.png

My reading list on goodreads and you can see the bottom

In the meantime I’ll ask my readers: Have you read this book? What’s at the bottom of your read list? What are your reading goals for the New Year?

05522f724b13d270983b73aacb778ed9

Here is a book challenge I did not make. Click it to find the original source.

Entire challenge:

1. A Book You Own But Haven’t Read

2. A Book that was Made into a Movie

3. A Book You Pick Solely for the Cover

4. A Book Your Friend Loves

5. A Book Published this Year

7. A Book by an Author You Love

8. A Book at the Bottom of your “To Be Read” Pile

9. A Book with a Color in the Title

10. A Book Set Somewhere You’ve Always Wanted to Visit

11. A Book You Started but Never Finished

12. A Book with a Lion, a Witch, or a Wardrobe

13. A Book with a Female Heroine

14. A Book Set in Summer

15. A Book of Poems

16. A Book You Learned About Because of this Challenge

17. A Book that Will Make You Smarter

18. A Book with a Blue Cover

19. A Book You Were Supposed to Read in School but Didn’t

20. A Book EVERYONE but You Has Read

21. A Book with a Great First Line

22. A Book with Pictures

23. A Book From the Library

24. A Book You Loved…Read it Again!

25. A Book that is More than Ten Years Old

26. A Book Based on a True Story

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Reading

11 responses to “Reading Challenge 8: A Book at the Bottom of your “To Be Read” Pile

  1. I am an avid reader. I believe this will be on my to-do list for 2016. It is always nice to challenge yourself and read something you might not normally read.

  2. I think I read this book, but it was so long ago I don’t even remember much of it! (Besides the general story, which is really well known.) For 2016, I’m planning to read fewer books so I can focus on my writing more, but I’m also planning to read more classics that I haven’t read yet. I just started on The Count of Monte Cristo and I love it!

  3. I love Dickens, and A Christmas Carol is my all-time favorite from him. So many wonderful truths about humanity and Christmas and love.

    • It’s a lovely story! I’m only sad that I’ve heard it so many times it’s begun to feel a bit tired to me. But perhaps in a few years I can return to this and enjoy it again.

  4. Hey Emily, have you read Jacob T. Marley by R. William Bennett? Easy read. I enjoyed it very much.

  5. I just nominated you for a Book Fangirling Award. If you’d be interested in participating pls go to my blog https://deborahkehoe.wordpress.com/. Thanks!

    • Thank you so so much! Sorry for not seeing it before now, I’ve been busy. I really appreciate the nomination!

      • You’re welcome! I enjoy your blog and thought, even though I don’t fangirl over anything myself that it’s nice to be recognized for all of that effort you put into your blog. I’d love it if you paid it forward and answered the questions. It’s interesting to find out more about each other! Keep blogging! Deborah

Let me know what you think:

