Reading Challenge 15: A Book of Poems

I had been dubiously eyeing number 15 from the time I started the reading challenge.The little dilemma is, I really don’t care much for poetry.

I know, gasp! I’m a horrible English major. But to be honest there are so many other forms of writing I would much rather spend time consuming. So when it came to choosing a book of poems, all I could think was that I didn’t know where to start. Until one day I discovered Goodreads has a reader’s choice award. And that these awards are given in categories, which made me curious to see what other people would recommend as good poetry.

Poetry nominees

I initially thought I’d read Lullabies, or another book by this same writer, but promptly discovered my library doesn’t carry it. Which caused me to turn to the runner up, Poisoned Apples: Poems For You, My Pretty by Christine Heppermann

Again, I started the book dubiously, thankfully only it seemed small and had short poems and plenty of pictures. But I soon found I liked it more than I would have initially thought. I suppose a large amount of that had to do with its content.

https://instagram.com/p/9EgAoTJn8r/?taken-by=ekmoore11

As someone who has devoured Grimm’s fairy tales and feminist literature, this was the perfect fusion of my interests. Heppermann’s poetry is a fusion of these old stories with modern ideas about beauty and relationships and women. It focuses largely on the problems of beauty standards such as eating disorders and an obsession with perfection. On a whole I felt there was a lot of value in these poems, even if they didn’t strike me as perfectly crafted (but what would I know as someone who doesn’t read poetry for fun?).

Heppermann also pointed out that while Grimm and Perrault and other males have been famed for the legacy of fairy tales, it was often women who first told them, and she believes that shapes these stories and their overall messages. I’d never thought of that before, but it makes sense. Certainly there might have been men who told these tales, but I do usually picture a mother sitting with her children telling them old folklore passed down by her mother. It was a beautiful thought to think of modernizing some of these, blending old women’s messages into new ones. So I’m very glad this challenge made me pick up a book I wouldn’t normally have. I think that’s one of the great things about this challenge is being forced outside my comfort zone and actually finding new materials I can enjoy.

Do you enjoy poetry? Any good recommendations?

Here is a book challenge I did not make. Click it to find the original source.

Here is a book challenge I did not make. Click it to find the original source.

1. A Book You Own But Haven’t Read

2. A Book that was Made into a Movie

3. A Book You Pick Soley for the Cover

4. A Book Your Friend Loves

5. A Book Published this Year

9. A Book with a Color in the Title

17. A Book that Will Make You Smarter

22. A Book with Pictures

24. A Book You Loved…Read it Again!

20 Comments

Filed under Reading

20 responses to “Reading Challenge 15: A Book of Poems

  1. Ooo! I have a whole shelf of poetry books. I may have to check this one out!

  2. I have such a hard time with poetry. The few poems that I like, I love to bits; but I’m always reluctant to branch out to new poetry. Way to get outside your reading comfort zone!

  3. Kat

    Saw your post on Twitter and came over to visit – now I have a new title to add to my reading list (I love poetry!). Thanks for posting.

  4. Pingback: Reading Challenge 7: A Book by an Author You Love | A Cup of English Tea

  5. Pingback: Reading Challenge 21: A Book with a Great First Line | A Cup of English Tea

  6. Pingback: Reading Challenge 12: A Book with a Lion, a Witch, or a Wardrobe | A Cup of English Tea

  7. Pingback: Reading Challenge 10: A Book Set Somewhere You’ve Always Wanted to Visit | A Cup of English Tea

  8. Pingback: Reading Challenge 20: A Book “EVERYONE But You Has Read | A Cup of English Tea

  9. Pingback: Reading Challenge 11: A Book You Started But Never Finished | A Cup of English Tea

  10. Pingback: Reading Challenge 26: A Book Based on a True Story | A Cup of English Tea

  11. Pingback: Reading Challenge 16: A Book You Learned About Because of this Challenge | A Cup of English Tea

  12. Pingback: Reading Challenge 14: A Book Set in the Summer | A Cup of English Tea

  13. Pingback: Reading Challenge 19: A Book You Were Supposed to Read in School but Didn’t | A Cup of English Tea

  14. Pingback: Reading Challenge 25: A Book That is More Than Ten Years Old | A Cup of English Tea

  15. Pingback: Reading Challenge 18: A Book With a Blue Cover | A Cup of English Tea

  16. Pingback: Reading Challenge 6: A Book by an Author You’ve Never Read Before | A Cup of English Tea

  17. Pingback: Reading Challenge 8: A Book at the Bottom of your “To Be Read” Pile | A Cup of English Tea

Let me know what you think: